The Dana Alliance for Brain Initiatives

Announcements, Honors, Awards


 DABI Members Receive Prizes from the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation

Two DABI members received Outstanding Achievement Awards from the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation. Robert R. Freeman, M.D., was awarded the Lieber Prize for Schizophrenia Research, and BJ Casey, Ph.D., was awarded the Ruane Prize for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.

14 New Members join the Dana Alliance for Brain Initiatives
(January 2015) 

Paul Aisen, M.D., University of California San Diego
Manzoor A. Bhat, M.S., Ph.D., UT Health Science Center at San Antonio
Edward J. Bilsky, Ph.D., University of New England
Elizabeth A. Buffalo, Ph.D., University of Washington School of Medicine
Patsy Dickinson, Ph.D., Bowdoin College
Fernando Gonzalez, M.D., University of California San Francisco School of Medicine
Csaba Juhasz, M.D., Ph.D., Wayne State University School of Medicine
Louis F. Reichardt, Ph.D., Simons Foundation Autism Research Initiative
Jane Roskams, Ph.D., University of British Columbia
Nicholas D. Schiff, M.D., Weill Cornell Medical College
Yi-Yuan Tang, Ph.D., Texas Tech University
Marcelo A. Wood, Ph.D., University of California Irvine
Richard Zigmond, Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University
Berislav V. Zlokovic, M.D., Ph.D., Keck School of Medicine University of Southern California

Four EDAB Members join DABI's Executive Committee

Four EDAB Executive Committee members Pierre Magistretti, M.D., Ph.D., Richard Morris, DPhil., FRSE, FRS, Wolf Singer, M.D., Ph.D., and Eva Sykova, M.D., Ph.D., DSc., have been elected members of DABI's Executive Committee.  Colin Blakemore, Ph.D, ScD., FRS has been a member of DABI's Executive Committee since 1997.

Larry Swanson elected Secretary-General of IBRO

Larry W. Swanson, Ph.D., was elected the next Secretary-General of the International Brain Research Organization (IBRO) and will succeed the current president, EDAB Executive Committee member Sten Grillner, in January 2016.  

 In Memoriam:  Vernon B. Mountcastle, M.D.

We are saddened by the loss of Vernon B. Mountcastle, M.D., who died at home in North Baltimore, Maryland on January 11, 2015.  Dr. Mountcastle was widely recognized as the "father of neuroscience" for his breakthrough discoveries of how the brain is constructed -  revealing the structure of the cerebral cortex and parietal lobe of the cortex and the areas that process certain kinds of information.  He was the esteemed recipient of many awards including the 1983 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award and the National Medal of Science.  Dr. Mountcastle was a founding member of DABI. See also, Guy McKhann's tribute to Dr. Mountcastle.

Richard Huganir awarded Goldman-Rakic Prize  

Richard L. Huganir, Ph.D., was awarded the Goldman-Rakic Prize for his pioneering research on "molecules involved in strengthening connections between nerve cells in the brain" that has helped shed light on the mechanisms underlying learning and memory, which has implications for Alzheimer's, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) and schizophrenia among others. 

 Mahlon DeLong wins Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award

Mahlon R. DeLong, M.D., and EDAB member Alim Louis Benabid were awarded the Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award for developing novel techniques of deep brain stimulation of the subthalmic nucleus by surgically implanting a "brain pacemaker" that can reduce tremors and restore motor function in patients with advanced Parkinson's disease.

Robert Daroff wins Lifetime Achievement Award

Robert B. Daroff, M.D., received The Lifetime Achievement Award from The National Headache Foundation in May. The award is presented to a health care professional for an impressive body of work in the field of headache and for enriching countless lives of those who experience headache. 

Diane Griffin wins 2015 Excellence in Science Award

Diane E. Griffin, M.D., Ph.D., was awarded the 2015 Excellence in Science Award from the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB) for her achievements studying human viral diseases, including her "seminal studies of a nerve cell's recovery from viral infections of the brain."

 Thomas Jessell awarded Gruber Prize

Thomas M. Jessell, Ph.D., was awarded the 2014 Gruber Neuroscience Prize for his pioneering work in the study of spinal neural circuits and identifying the "cellular, molecular, and genetic mechanisms" that regulate those circuits, findings that helped establish the entire field of developmental neuroscience.

 Marcus Raichle and Brenda Milner win Kavli Prize

Marcus E. Raichle, M.D. and Brenda A. Milner, Sc. D., were conferred the 2014 Kavli Prize by the Norwegian Academy of Science. Milner has discovered specific areas of the brain pertinent for memory formation and other functions most famously, by studying her beloved patient HM. Raichle has made strides in visualizing and measuring the functioning of the human brain as well as mapping neuronal networks.

Jeffrey Noebels  Awarded Michael E. DeBakey Excellence in Research Award

Jeffrey L. Noebels, M.D., Ph.D. was conferred the Michael E. DeBakey Excellence in Research Award,  Baylor College of Medicine's top honor.

 In Memoriam:  Gerald M. Edelman, M.D., Ph.D.

We are saddened by the loss of Gerald M. Edelman, M.D., Ph.D., who died at home in  La Jolla, California on May 17, 2014.  Dr. Edelman won the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 1972 with Rodney R. Porter for their discoveries concerning the chemical structure of antibodies."  He was a founding member of DABI and a founding Director of the Neurosciences Institute, a non-profit scientific research organization dedicated to learning about the human brain for the benefit of humankind.